Welcome to the Institute of Physical Art.

FM I

FM I: Functional MobilizationTM I
A biomechanical approach to Soft Tissue Mobilization 

Prerequisites: None

Required Course Preparation:  Prior to the classroom portion of this course, all students must complete required course preparation.  The preparation for FM I includes videos, quizzes, and articles.  Plan to spend 5-6 hours learning this important information.  Once enrolled in a course, required course preparation can be found by logging on to your IPA account and selecting "My Upcoming Courses."  If you have any trouble accessing the required course preparation please call our office at 970-870-9521 for assistance. Also, please note that approved CEUs may vary depending on individual states' treatment of Online vs. Classroom Instruction.

Required Equipment:  None

Course Cost:  $675.00

Purpose
Written and developed by Gregory S. Johnson, PT, FFFMT, FAAOMPT and Vicky Saliba Johnson, PT, FFFMT, FAAOMPT.   FM I (formerly FO I) was the first biomechanical soft tissue mobilization (STM) course offered to the PT profession. It presents an integrated approach to patient care with emphasis on soft tissue mobilization combined with PNF, joint mobilization and exercise training. This course presents techniques that are the foundation to advanced course material. 

FM I trains the participant to observe structure, posture, and movement and correlate the presenting mechanical, neuromuscular, and motor control objective findings to dysfunctions in the soft tissue system. The concept of the human body as an interconnected dynamic system will be stressed, presenting evidence as to the interrelationship between the soft tissue system and the articular, neuromuscular, and motor control systems.  Emphasis is placed on the evaluation of the soft tissue structures and the application of specific treatment techniques to normalize any identified dysfunction.

Objectives
Define and identify efficient and inefficient structure and function utilizing three IPA Functional Tests.

Correlate subjective findings to dysfunctions in the soft tissues of the body.

Develop specific layer palpation skills to assist in the delineation of structures involved.

Perform seven specific Functional Soft Tissue Mobilization techniques as an integrated component of the Functional Manual Therapy™ system for posterior and anterior spinal structures.

Discuss the current literature related to Soft Tissue Mobilization.

Instructor Note
The instructors advertised for the course are the intended instructors. The final number of instructors will be determined by course enrollment. Every effort is made to hold the course with the scheduled instructors. Course refunds or transfers will not be granted based on a change of instructors. Please note there may be instructor changes without prior notice.

Multiple instructors are scheduled for each course. However, the actual number of instructors at a course will be determined by final enrollment.

Hours
3 Days, 22.5-30.0 Hours. (Approved CEUs vary by state.)
Note: FM I requires students to complete online videos before attending the classroom instruction.  Approved CEUs for this course may vary depending on individual states' treatment of Online vs. Classroom Instruction. Before registering for a course you should verify approved CEUs with your state licensing board or association.  State rules are subject to change.   IPA courses are approved for the state in which the course is held.

Breaks
No break food will be provided during FM I courses.  You are welcome to bring your own snacks if desired.

Attendance
Audience: PT, PTA. OTs may attend with another OT or PT as lab partner.

Each student is expected to attend all hours of instruction to receive a certificate of completion. Any exceptions to this policy must be pre-approved in writing by the Directors.

Lab Clothing
Lab clothing is required Friday through Sunday only. Each participant's body must be accessible for observation and treatment. Please refrain from wearing large or sharp jewelry. A sweat suit is advisable between demonstrations, as temperatures may vary in the room.

Women: Two-piece swim suit or halter top / sports bra and shorts. (Please note that if you choose to wear a sports bra you will need an alternative top for the thoracic spine lab on Friday afternoon.)

Men: Shorts or swim trunks.

ALL: Warm-up suits or other clothing worn over the above described attire is advised to ensure comfort between demonstrations.

Course Preparation
This workshop is quite demanding and intense.  Please come prepared and rested.  Have your fingernails clipped back and filed as some techniques require fingertip pressure.  Review your basic anatomy of the trunk muscles, joints and fascia.  You will need this foundation readily available to apply the principles and procedures taught. Be sure to complete the required course preparation listed above.

Required Reading
"Orthopaedic Physical Therapy (3rd Edition)". Robert Donatelli and Michael Wooden (eds.), Churchill Livingstone, 2001: "Soft Tissue Mobilization" by Gregory S. Johnson. 

Recommended Reading

Gray's Anatomy, English Edition: The section on connective tissue.
Trail Guide to the Body.  4th Edition.  Biel, Andrew, Books of Discovery: 2001. www.booksofdiscovery.com, 800-775-9227 or info@booksofdiscovery.com
Anatomy Trains.  Myers, Thomas W.  China:  Churchill Livingstone, 2001.

Bibliography
FM I Bibliography A Part 1
FM I Bibliography A Part 2
FM I Bibliography A Part 3
FM I Bibliography B
FM I Bibliography A Reference List

Download Registration Form

10 Item(s)

per page

Set Descending Direction

    Articles and Information

    CFS

    San Francisco CA
    Fri, Apr 17, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Clackamas OR
    Fri, May 15, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 17, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Oak Brook IL
    Fri, May 29, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 31, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Mukilteo WA
    Fri, May 29, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 31, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Orlando FL
    Fri, Jun 12, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 14, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Albuquerque NM
    Fri, Jun 12, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 14, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Minnetonka MN
    Fri, Jun 26, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 28, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Milwaukee WI
    Fri, Sep 11, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 13, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Washington DC
    Fri, Sep 11, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 13, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    San Francisco CA
    Fri, Oct 09, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 11, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Katy TX
    Fri, Oct 16, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 18, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Boise ID
    Fri, Nov 06, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 08, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Brooklyn NY
    Fri, Nov 13, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 15, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Atlanta GA
    Fri, Nov 13, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 15, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Des Moines IA
    Fri, Nov 13, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 15, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    PNF I

    Jacksonville Beach FL
    Fri, Apr 10, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Portland OR
    Fri, Apr 10, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    White Plains NY
    Fri, Apr 17, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Alexandria VA
    Fri, Apr 24, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Denver CO
    Fri, Apr 24, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    McKinney TX
    Fri, May 01, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 03, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Green Bay WI
    Fri, May 01, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 03, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Bay Shore NY
    Sun, May 17, 2015
    -
    Tue, May 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Washington DC
    Fri, Jun 12, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 14, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    San Francisco CA
    Fri, Jun 26, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 28, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Atlanta GA
    Fri, Jun 26, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 28, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Pasadena CA
    Fri, Jul 24, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Somerville NJ
    Fri, Aug 28, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 30, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Abilene TX
    Fri, Sep 25, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 27, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Minneapolis MN
    Fri, Oct 02, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 04, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Fresno CA
    Fri, Dec 04, 2015
    -
    Sun, Dec 06, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    FM I

    Orange CA
    Fri, Apr 17, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Brooklyn NY
    Fri, Jun 26, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 28, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Denver CO
    Fri, Jul 10, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Temple TX
    Fri, Jul 24, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    San Francisco CA
    Fri, Aug 21, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 23, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Deer Park WA
    Fri, Oct 09, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 11, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Washington DC
    Fri, Oct 09, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 11, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Pasadena CA
    Fri, Oct 16, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 18, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Oshkosh WI
    Fri, Nov 06, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 08, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Bay Shore NY
    Sun, Nov 08, 2015
    -
    Tue, Nov 10, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    FM II

    Oak Brook IL
    Thu, Jun 11, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 14, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Denver CO
    Thu, Aug 27, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 30, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Brooklyn NY
    Thu, Sep 10, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 13, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Appleton WI
    Thu, Oct 08, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 11, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Temple TX
    Thu, Nov 05, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 08, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    FMLQ

    Rockford IL
    Thu, Apr 23, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    New York NY
    Thu, May 14, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 17, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Washington DC
    Thu, Jun 25, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jun 28, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Portland OR
    Thu, Jul 23, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Green Bay WI
    Thu, Aug 13, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 16, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Atlanta GA
    Thu, Oct 01, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 04, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Annapolis MD
    Thu, Nov 19, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 22, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    FMUQ

    Monrovia CA
    Thu, Apr 30, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 03, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Des Moines IA
    Thu, Jul 09, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Redmond WA
    Thu, Nov 12, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 15, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    GAIT

    Lake Forest IL
    Fri, Jul 17, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Atlanta GA
    Fri, Jul 31, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 02, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Alexandria VA
    Fri, Aug 14, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 16, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Jacksonville Beach FL
    Fri, Aug 21, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 23, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Clackamas OR
    Fri, Sep 18, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 20, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    White Plains NY
    Fri, Oct 02, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 04, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    McKinney TX
    Fri, Oct 02, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 04, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    VFM

    North Richland Hills TX
    Fri, Apr 10, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Athens GA
    Fri, May 15, 2015
    -
    Sun, May 17, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Annapolis MD
    Fri, Jul 17, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Hayward CA
    Fri, Jul 24, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 26, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Monrovia CA
    Fri, Jul 31, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 02, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    New York NY
    Fri, Oct 09, 2015
    -
    Sun, Oct 11, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    PNF II

    REM

    DFA

    Brooklyn NY
    Sat, Apr 11, 2015
    -
    Sun, Apr 12, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    PGP

    Orange CA
    Sat, Jul 18, 2015
    -
    Sun, Jul 19, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Atlanta GA
    Sat, Sep 12, 2015
    -
    Sun, Sep 13, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info
    Tigard OR
    Sat, Nov 21, 2015
    -
    Sun, Nov 22, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    PH

    TP

    Brooklyn NY
    Sat, Aug 08, 2015
    -
    Sun, Aug 09, 2015
    Add to Cart More Info

    PNUQ

    PNLQ

    FMT Foundations

    Other Courses

10 Item(s)

per page

Set Descending Direction